Chablis, Crash Course

Crash Course: Chablis

Crash Course: Chablis

Chablis, although geographically closer to Champagne, is classified as part of Burgundy. The region exclusively grows Chardonnay, which is made into a zesty, lively, lean and mineral wine that has become the region’s calling card.

Chablis is the original pioneer when it comes to unoaked Chardonnay, doing away with the butter and cream many Chardonnay drinkers had become used to. This complements the soil of the region, a white and chalky limestone not unlike its neighbour slightly further north.

In terms of vineyard classification, Chablis departs from Burgundy with a slightly modified system of classification. Whilst wine from the Grands Crus and Premier Crus is still referred to as such, wine made from grapes sourced across the region of Chablis is referred to as “Petit Chablis.” Wine from grapes near or in the village of Chablis are known simply as “Chablis” and are by far the most common.

Chablis Fast Facts:

  • Population: 2 302
  • Soil: Kimmeridgean soil – limestone and clay with billions of tiny, fossilized oyster shells
  • Total hectarage of vineyards: 4 755 ha
    • Grands Crus: 104 ha
    • 1ers Cru: 775 ha
    • Villages (“Chablis”): 3 163 ha
    • Regionale (“Petit Chablis”): 713 ha
  • Notable Grands Crus:
    • Blanchots
    • Bougros
    • Les Preuses
    • Les Clos
    • Les Grenouilles
    • Valmur
    • Vaudésir